President Uhuru to be sworn-in on 28th November

Written By: Samson Kitavi


President Uhuru Kenyatta will tentatively be sworn into office next Tuesday after the Supreme Court upheld his October 26th repeat presidential election win.

Article 141 of the constitution on the Assumption of office of the President states that president elect will be sworn into office on the 7th day following the date of which the court renders a decision declaring the election valid after a petition meaning that President Uhuru Kenyatta will take oath of office for his final term on the 28th of this month.

Also Read  KNUT wants staffing policy reviewed

It was a three month trying moment for both President Uhuru Kenyatta and Deputy William Ruto, three months that has seen their re-election twice tested in the Supreme Court and once nullified.

The disputed August 8th general election spilled to the corridors of the Supreme Court after NASA presidential candidate Raila Odinga and his running mate Kalonzo Musyoka sought a legal redress on the same.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Supreme Court judges led by the Chief Justice David Maraga invalidated President Kenyatta’s win and a new presidential election was set for October 26th, in which NASA presidential candidate Raila Odinga boycotted and President Uhuru Kenyatta carried the day with a 7.4 million vote win.

Also Read  Mary Wambui's appointment as Employment Authority chair revoked

Like the August polls, three petitioners moved to the highest court in the land to challenge the October 26th repeat presidential poll.

Also Read  ANC leader Mudavadi calls for inclusivity in BBI

The court Monday dismissed the case citing lack of merit and with that unanimously upheld President Uhuru Kenyatta and deputy William Ruto’s win.

The ruling now sets rolling a flurry of activities that leads to the swearing in.

President Kenyatta will now take the oath of office for his last term in office on the Tuesday of 28th November at Kasarani stadium.



Tell Us What You Think