Roadmap to Referendum: More counties set to pass BBI Bill

Written By: Muraya Kamunde

Members of the Busia County Assembly during a sitting to deliberate on the BBI document on Tuesday

The number of counties that will give a green light to the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) Bill has been growing, and it is expected that the threshold will be reached this week.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

A total of 11 counties have so far approved the Bill, after Nairobi, Vihiga, and Laikipia Counties unanimously voted last week in favor of the Constitution of Kenya Amendment Bill, 2020.

The counties which had previously passed the Bill include Siaya, Kisii, Homa Bay, Kisumu, West Pokot, Kajiado, and Trans Nzoia.

Also Read  Covid-19: Uhuru Primary shut down after 16 pupils, 4 teachers test positive

So far, Baringo is the only county to have rejected the Bill.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

On Monday, Members of County Assemblies from Machakos and Makueni gave the biggest indication that they will adopt the Bill Tuesday when it comes up for debate.

The leaders said they had consulted with area governors Charity Ngilu (Kitui) and Alfred Mutua of Machakos and that they had resolved as the leadership of the South Eastern Kenya Economic Bloc (SEKEB) to pass Bill especially citing a proposal to increase grassroots development kitty.

Also Read  The President was not elected to become a rubber-stamp, Munya says

In the meantime, Ndaragwa residents have also asked their Members of the County Assembly to give the Bill a green light following a “successful public participation forum on Friday.”

During the public participation exercise, the residents regretted that the constituency’s population fell way below the population quota of 132, 000, leaving it to the mercies of the upcoming boundary review.

It is because of the promise for an additional constituency that Nyandarua MCAs are seen as more likely to follow the route of their counterparts who have given an endorsement to the BBI Bill.

Also Read  President Kenyatta, Kibaki mourn business mogul Dr Chris Kirubi

Other county assemblies expected to debate and vote on the Bill this week include; Tharaka Nithi, Nakuru, Nyeri, Embu, Murang’a, Migori, Bungoma, Kakamega and Taita Taveta.

The Bill requires the approval of 24 counties, paving way for its presentation to the National Assembly before a possible referendum.


Tell Us What You Think