Rooney wins England Player of the Year


Wayne Rooney has been named England Player of the Year for 2015, retaining the title he won in 2014.

The Manchester United forward earned 37 per cent of the votes cast by members of the England Supporters Club and has now won it four times.

Rooney, 30, overtook Sir Bobby Charlton to be England’s all-time top goalscorer during the year and was captain as England qualified for Euro 2016.

Stoke City goalkeeper Jack Butland was voted Under-21 Player of the Year.

The duo will be presented with their awards before the next England get-together in March.


Latest posts

Spurs rue missed chances in goalless Champions League draw

Maxwell Wasike

Haaland and Fodden net hatricks as Mancity thump Man United

Bernard Okumu

Handball: Young City break the duck as league continues to take shape

Bernard Okumu

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: