Samburu County approves BBI Constitution Amendment Bill

Samburu County Assembly unanimously passed the Building Bridges Initiative(BBI) bill Monday, becoming the twelveth County to say yes to the bill.

All 26 Members of County Assembly(MCAs) overwhelmingly voted to approve the bill.

While presenting the public participation report before the assembly under the leadership of speaker Solomon Lempere, Adhoc committee on BBI Chairperson, Paul Enyang said members of the public were in support of constitutional amendment through the BBI report.

Enyang said the residents are supporting the bill as it will increase national government’s allocation to counties from the current 15 to 35%. Funds will also be disbursed closer to common mwananchi in rural areas through ward development fund and establishment of national youths commission.

Mr Lempere said that the county assembly and residents of Samburu county are supporting national government’s agenda.

we must move with residents of Samburu county in ensuring we are together with the government is and with that confirmation, we did not have any descending views from members of the public in samburu central, samburu east and Samburu North.

The leaders among them Samburu women representative Maison Leshoomo, Samburu North MP Alois Lentoimaga and former permanent secretary for Agriculture Dr Richard Lesiyampe lauded the MCAs for passing the bill.

Dr Lesiyampe said samburu is among counties that will gain in the Counties’ resource allocation if the bill is passed and amended into law.

we thank our MCAs for making a decision to pass the BBI because we will get more funds  close to Sh1.7b as a county if the constitution is amended,” he said.

Samburu women rep thanked the MCAs assuring Kenyans that the constitutional amendments as proposed by BBI will win at 100 per cent in Samburu County.

It is now clear that there will be no MCA who will campaign against BBI in his or her ward when he or she herself has voted for its approval in the county assembly,” she said.

Other Counties which have passed the Bill include Kisumu, Homa Bay, Siaya, West Pokot, Trans Nzoia, Kajiado, Nairobi, Laikipia Vihiga, Busia and Kisii.

So far only Baringo County Assembly has opposed the Bill.

More than 10 counties were expected to subject the bill to a vote on Tuesday.


Latest posts

State to spend Ksh 1.2 billion to protect Baricho boreholes

Muraya Kamunde

Police launch probe into Vihiga Boys High School fire

Margaret Kalekye

Nyandarua heading towards achieving zero malnutrition

Christine Muchira

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More