Senate Committee holds meeting over revenue sharing headache

Written By: Muraya Kamunde

A 12-member mediation Senate Committee tasked with resolving the third basis formula allocation to counties is today holding a meeting as efforts to resolve the stalemate intensifies. 

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

The committee co-chaired by Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja and his Bungoma counterpart Moses Wetangula is exploring ways of ending the stalemate that has rocked The house for over two months.

Other members of the committee include; Mohamud Mohamed (Mandera), Stewart Madzayo (Kilifi), Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet) and Anwar Loitiptip (Lamu) Mutula Kilonzo Jnr (Makueni), Susan Kihika (Nakuru), Samson Cherargey (Nandi), Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), John Kinyua (Laikipia) and Ledama Olekina (Narok).

Also Read  Justice Marete: I will motivate Judiciary officers to end backlog  

The Committee has already received a report by the Parliamentary Budget Office on proposals by the Commission of Revenue Allocation and the Finance Committee Amendments.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

The Committee will also review amendments by individual Senators during the debate and come up with a report which will be tabled in the house.

Also Read  Ongoing curfew hours in zoned areas to run until May 29: Matiang’i

Last week, The Senate adjourned the debate on revenue allocation for a record tenth time to allow the special committee formed by opposing sides to reach consensus.

Also Read  All eyes on counties suspected of vaccine hoarding

The government is pushing to have the formula in place to guide the disbursement of budgetary allocation to counties.

Some senators are however accusing the government of trying to deprive some counties of cash by drastically reducing their share of the Ksh 316.5 billion shillings.


Tell Us What You Think