State begins relief food distribution to starving families

The government has began distribution of relief supplies to 14 counties worst hit by the ongoing drought as part of the national drought mitigation initiative.

Devolution Cabinet Secretary Eugene Wamalwa officially launched the programme in in Tana River County where distributed part of the three million bags of maize in the Strategic Grain Reserve with an additional 90,000 bags of rice set aside for the intervention.

The rice was donated to Kenya by the Chinese government two weeks ago.

“No Kenyan will lose life because of famine or drought, we shall continue supplying relief food to the affected areas until the drought ends,’’ he said.

The Devolution CS asked Kenyans not to worry as the food would go to all deserving areas in the country.

However he warned Deputy county commissioners, their assistants, chiefs, sub chiefs and village elders against diverting the relief food meant for the deserving people.

He said anyone found to have directed relief food to ‘rich’ people shall be jailed.

“Whoever plans to divert the food to another area shall be jailed, Deputy County commissioners, and Chiefs we are entrusting you with the relief food, but it should reach the deserving people,’’ he said.

Wamalwa said his Ministry would work with all governors irrespective of their political affiliation to ensure President Uhuru Kenyatta achieve the big four agenda in the country including housing, affordable health care, food security and industrialization.

“Politics is over, it’s time to work as devolution Cabinet secretary  I assure all governors that I shall build bridges to strengthen the intergovernmental relations,’’ he said.

The CS also said coast region would soon be the food basket of the country with the ongoing 1 million acre project at galena Kulalu.

He said the government would also strive to ensure the completion of Bura and Hola irrigation schemes.

“Coast has the potential to produce food for the whole country it will be the pillar of food security,’’ he said.

After Tana River, the program moves to Kilifi, Taita Taveta and Lamu Counties, before extending to Kajiado, Mandera, Isiolo, Turkana and Garissa.

At least 3.4 million Kenyans face starvation following the prolonged drought that has hit the country.

The Kenya Red Cross Society says the worst affected areas are Kilifi County, Kajiado, Isiolo, Garissa, Wajir, Mandera, Turkana and Baringo.











Latest posts

Missing scholar Abdiwahab reunites with family

Margaret Kalekye

10 suspected gang members in custody, crude weapons recovered

Beth Nyaga

One Kenya Alliance still intact says Gideon Moi

Claire Wanja

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More