Tana River County Assembly set to vet 14 chief officers

The Tana River County Assembly kicked off the process of vetting fourteen nominees to the positions of County Chief Officers.

Speaker Michael Justin Nkaduda committed the nominees to relevant house committees, for vetting and recommending suitability of appointment of the persons nominated by Governor Dhadho Gaddae Godhana.

Hero Said Bwanamaka, who was nominated to the Finance and Economic Planning docket will be vetted by the Finance and Economic Planning committee, while George Kase (Health and Sanitation) will be vetted by the departmental committee on Health.

Mr. Buya Fares (Agriculture), Mr. Francis Hiribae Malibe (Lands and Physical Planning), and Siraj Mohamed Abdilahi (Livestock, Fisheries and Veterinary Services) will be vetted by the committee on Lands, Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Veterinary Services.

Eng. Eric Onjole (Public Works and Housing) and Jeremiah Hiribae Gijo (Roads) will appear before the committee on Roads, Public Works and Urbanization, with the fate of Barako Ahmed Maalim (Environment and Natural Resources) and Alphonse Soso (Water and Energy) being at the mercy of the committee on Water, Energy and Natural Resources.

The committee on Education, Youth, Sports, Gender and Social Services will vet nominees to the positions of Chief Officers for Education and Vocational Training, Ms Bona Fatuma Gafo and Mr. Eric Arwa Wasonga (Youth, Spofrts, Gender and Social Services.)

Kanchoru Golo (Trade, Cooperative Development, Tourism and Industrialization) will face the committee on Trade, Cooperative Development, Tourism and Industrialization while the nominee for Public Service and ICT, while the nominee for Chief Officer in the governor’s office, Ms Makuru Salima Omara will be vetted by the Public Service Administration and ICT committee.

But even before the vetting process starts, a number of MCAs have vowed to reject the entire list on the grounds that it does not conform to the two-thirds gender rule and that one of the major communities in the county had been left out.

Of the 14 nominees, only two are women with no representative from the Persons with Disabilities and the Wardei community.

“Although the chief officers will be vetted by different committees, we are going to shoot down the motion to approve them since one of the major communities is not represented,” an MCA who sought anonymity said.

The female MCA, who is believed to be close to the governor, told the Kenya News Agency that she had personally told the governor to re-constitute his list before it is deliberated in the house “but the governor told me that the County Assembly was at liberty to approve or reject the list.”

The governor is relying on the good will of communities under the Chanamaro ethnic grouping of the Pokomo, Munywoyaya and Wailwana community since his party, the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), did not secure even a single seat in the assembly.


Latest posts

Two burnt to death in accident along Mombasa-Nairobi highway

Muraya Kamunde

Major roads in Kajiado County to be renamed after local heroes

Christine Muchira

State sets up modern library, lecture halls at Multimedia University

Muraya Kamunde

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More