NCIC summons 10 politicians over electoral violence claims

At least ten Lawmakers accused of fanning chaos in the just concluded by-elections in Western and Rift Valley regions are Monday expected to appear before the National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC).

The commission which summoned them on Saturday is also threatening to push for their removal from office for contravening Chapter 6 of Constitution on leadership and integrity.

The ten lawmakers include Homa Bay woman representative Gladys Wanga, Malindi Mp Aisha Jumwa, Mount Elgon member of parliament Fred Kapondi and Mumias East MP Ben Washiali.

“The commission will continue to ensure that there’s a peaceful election process and a violence free 2022. NCIC continues to urge Kenyans to embrace tolerance and allow the law to take it’s cause on those found guilty.”

Others are Senators Cleophas Malala of Kakamega county, nominated senator Millicent Omanga, Kiminni MP Dr Chris Wamalwa, Charles Were of Kasipul Kabondo and Feisal Abdallah of  Msambweni.

NCIC Chairperson Samuel Kobia said the commission with the aid of the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI) has also launched a manhunt for  goons who frog marched and insulted a female electoral officer in Matungu constituency.

On Saturday, NCIC Chair Rev. Dr. Samuel Kobia said his commission had recommended to the EACC to seek a legal mandate from the Judiciary to remove from office leaders who violate Chapter Six of the constitution.

“These summons do not just indicate our intention to investigate and prosecute but rather also indicate the plan of the Commission to stop the unethical from occupying office,” said Rev. Dr. Samuel Kobia.

NCIC has also asked the Directorate of Criminal Investigations to probe and blacklist such political leaders to ensure that they never attain a certificate of good conduct.

In addition, NCIC has written to the Registrar of Political Parties requesting that various political parties initiate disciplinary action against their rogue members.

Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei and MPs Didmas Barasa, Wilson Kogo, and Nelson Koech were not included in the list because their matter is already  in court.

Meanwhile, former Sports Cabinet Secretary Rashid Echesa is Monday expected to be presented in court for allegedly assaulting  an electoral official in Matungu.

Echesa was arrested on Friday after he presented himself before the Matungu Police Station at 4pm.

Earlier on Friday, Inspector General of Police Hilary Mutyambai had issued an ultimatum to Echesa to surrender to police by 1pm or risk being considered an armed and dangerous suspect on the run.


Latest posts

Coast RC orders re-opening of schools as police restore normalcy in Lamu

Muraya Kamunde

KANU receives over 70 UDA defectors from Rift Valley

Muraya Kamunde

President Kenyatta mourns lawyer Nani Njoroge

Muraya Kamunde

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More