Treasury disburses Ksh 24.6 billion to counties

Written By: Christine Muchira

National Treasury has disbursed Ksh 24.6 billion shillings to counties as part of their Equitable Share.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yatani in a statement to newsrooms said total balances for various counties held at the CBK now stands at 61.4 billion shillings.

This even as CS Yatani appealed to county governments to make full and timely use of those funds, as additional disbursements from exchequer are made in due course.

Also Read  Tea prices dip 13pc as high volumes persist

He further urged county governments to prioritise settlement of pending bills to suppliers and other statutory dues to enabled concerned institutions to discharge their mandates effectively.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Meanwhile, noting the general improvement of the economy and in particular positive revenue performance since December 2020, Yatani said the National Treasury and Planning will prioritise disbursements to county governments, noting their critical obligations of service delivery to the Kenya citizens.

Also Read  Consider cryptocurrency use in post-covid economic recovery, experts urge

Last week treasury transferred a total of Ksh 133 billion to county governments, Ksh 120.2 billion has been disbursed as part of the Equitable Share due to county governments and Ksh 13 billion as Conditional grants.

Also Read  Coca-Cola appoints Debra Mallowah as East and Central Africa VP

Also read


Tell Us What You Think