Africa was supposed to have scrapped visa requirements for all citizens of the continent as of 2018, but this has not yet happened. One would say it’s quite unfair that Europeans get to waltz in to Africa free and without visa requirements while its own citizens don’t.  It’s a slow, gradual process for African nations opening up the borders to fellow Africans e.g. Nigeria has announced that it will issue visa-on-arrival for all Africans as on January 2020, so I guess we’re making strides.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

First and foremost, a visa is an endorsement that shows a visitor is allowed to enter a country for a specific length of time and for specific activities. It’s usually issued in the form of a stamp or certificate.

Also Read  Katherine Silva talks about winning Africa Pageant

Here are the types of visas you’ll need as an Kenyan travelling in Africa as of December 2019

VISA REQUIRED: This means that it is mandatory for a visa to be acquired before departure and travel to the country.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153
  • Angola
  • Cameroon
  • central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Egypt
  • Equitorial Guinea
  • Eritria
  • Guinea
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Niger
  • South Africa
  • Tunisia
Also Read  Sailors Gang's Lexxy Yung leaves Gengetone for Gospel music

VISA ON ARRIVAL (VOA): This means one can travel to the country but must obtain the visa on getting to the country

eVISA: This means that an electronic visa must be obtained before departure to the country

Also Read  Burna Boy makes it to Biden-Harris inauguration playlist

These countries issue the VOA or eVisa

  • Burkina Faso
  • Cape Verde
  • Comoros
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Côte D’Ivoire (E-Visa)
  • Djibouti
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Madagascar
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Seychelles (Visitor’s Pass)
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Togo

NO VISA: No visa is required to travel to the country

  • Seychelles
  • Benin
  • Gambia
  • Senegal
  • Ghana
  • Lesotho
  • Namibia
  • Mauritius
  • Botswana
  • Zimbabwe
  • Zambia
  • Malawi
  • Burundi
  • Rwanda
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Ethiopia

Tell Us What You Think