Home NEWS Local News President Ruto makes two new State appointments

President Ruto makes two new State appointments

President William Ruto. Photo/Courtesy
President William Ruto. Photo/Courtesy

President William Ruto has made two new appointments in the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA) and the Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) respectively.

In a statement by State House Spokesperson Hussein Mohamed, President Ruto nominated Mary Wanyonyi as the chairperson of CRA taking over from Jane Kiringai whose six-year term has ended.

Channel 1

She was picked among three candidates among them Thomas Ludindi Mwadeghu and Felicity Nkirote Biriri.

Her nomination was preceded by a competitive recruitment process undertaken by the Public Service Commission (PSC).

“The Head of State has pursuant to Article 215 (2)(a) of the Constitution nominated CPA Mary Wanyonyi for appointment as the Chairperson of the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA),” State House spokesperson Hussein Mohamed said.

Ms. Wanyonyi is a Certified Accountant and a Certified Mediator who also holds a Master’s degree in Business Administration and a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting). The nominee has had a stellar career in accounting spanning over three decades.

She is currently serving the nation as the Senior Deputy Accountant General and Head of Accounting Unit in the Ministry of Lands, Public Works, Housing and Urban Development.

The nominee has previously served as a Council/Board Member of various State Corporations and State Agencies including: The Cooperative University College, Kenyatta National Hospital (KNH) and Maasai Mara University.

At the same time, the President has also appointed Dr. Phyllis Wambui Wagacha as member of Salaries and Remuneration Commission for the next six years.

Dr. Phyllis Wambui Wagacha will fill the vacancy that arose following the resignation of Hon. Dalmas Otieno, EGH to participate in the last General Election.

Dr. Wagacha, holds a Doctoral Degree in Information Sciences, from Moi University. The Nominee has previously served at Kenya Institute for Public Policy Research and Analysis (KIPPRA), Kenya Bureau of Standards (KEBS), Kenya National Library Service (KNLS) and International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation.

The two names have been forwarded to parliament for vetting before they are sworn in to office.

Website | + posts