Home Uncategorized President Ruto nominates Mary Wanyonyi as CRA Chairperson

President Ruto nominates Mary Wanyonyi as CRA Chairperson

President William Ruto Monday nominated Mary Wanyonyi for the appointment of the Chairperson of the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA). 

The nomination fills the vacancy caused by the retirement of Dr. Jane Kiringai, who had served a full six-year term at the helm of the CRA.

Channel 1

Wanyonyi’s nomination was preceded by a competitive recruitment process undertaken by the Public Service Commission (PSC).

She was nominated from a pool of three names including those of Thomas Ludindi Mwadeghu and Felicity Nkirote Biriri that had been forwarded to him by the Public Service Commission (PSC).

In a statement, the President noted that Wanyonyi was a viable candidate for the position because of her educational background and previous professional experience.

“Wanyonyi is a Certified Accountant and a Certified Mediator who also holds a Master’s degree in Business Administration and a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting). The nominee has had a stellar career in accounting spanning over three decades.” Read the statement.

She is currently serving the nation as the Senior Deputy Accountant General and Head of Accounting Unit in the Ministry of Lands, Public Works, Housing and Urban Development.

Additionally, Wanyonyi has previously served as a Council/Board Member of various State Corporations and State Agencies including: The Cooperative University College, Kenyatta National Hospital (KNH) and Maasai Mara University.

At the same time, the Head of State nominated  Dr Phyllis Wambui Wagacha as a member of the Salaries and Remuneration Commission(SRC) to represent the Public Service Commission.

The nomination fills the vacancy that arose following the resignation of Dalmas Otieno to vie in the August 2022 elections.

The nomination follows a competitive process in which the PSC recommended to the President, the appointment of either Dr. Phyllis Wambui Wagacha, Japhter Kiplimo Rugut.

The Nominee has previously served at Kenya Institute for Public Policy Research and Analysis (KIPPRA), Kenya Bureau of Standards (KEBS), Kenya National Library Service (KNLS) and International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation.

She holds a Doctoral Degree in Information Sciences, from Moi University.

The president has since has transmitted the nominations to the National Assembly for consideration by Parliament, in fulfilment of the legal requirements set out under the supreme law.


Website | + posts