Home NEWS County News State to hand over 8 museums to County governments

State to hand over 8 museums to County governments

Wajir becomes the third county after Trans-Nzoia and Narok to take over the county function.

The national government through the Intergovernmental Relations Technical Committee (IGRTC) and the National Museums of Kenya is in the process of transferring Museum function and resources to eight Counties.

The counties are Trans-Nzoia, Narok, Kisumu, Wajir, Isiolo, Meru, Marsabit and Lamu.

Channel 1

Wajir becomes the third county after Trans-Nzoia and Narok to take over the county function.

Speaking during the verification of Wajir Museum assets to evaluate the condition before the final transfer and official signing of an Intergovernmental Partnership Agreement (IPA), IGRTC vice Chairperson Saadia Kontoma emphasized the committee’s dedication to transferring duly verified assets, aiming to enhance the capacity of Wajir county in effectively executing services in relation to the devolved function.

The vice Chair reiterated the significance of collaboration between the levels of government in spearheading developmental processes, and the importance of synergy between national and county governments in advancing socio-economic progress and ensuring effective governance at the grassroots level.

Angeline Hongo IGRTC Member says the committee has established eight county governments to receive the Museum Function that has collections and artifacts under the guidance of the National Museums of Kenya, IGRTC and Wajir County government will come up with an IPA to outline what is being handed over and the roles of the two levels of government.

Mahat Dore Deputy County secretary Wajir County says the county government is ready to receive the function that will be key in enhancing and preserving culture, especially for the pastoralist communities living within the Northern frontier.

The Deputy county secretary noted that they will work closely with communities to collect more artifacts in the rejoin to be displayed at the museum which will also serve as an education center for the youths and schools to learn about their culture which they stand to miss out if not preserved for future generations.

The Wajir Museum was officially opened on 19th April 2011.  Wajir was occupied in 1912, to prevent the Boranas from being driven away from the Wells which originally belonged to them by other tribes. British Officers arrived at Wajir in 1913.

In 1921 the military took over the administration of the district until September 1925 when it reverted to civil administration.

In 1928, the boundary was shifted North of Modo Gashe to the line of Uaso Nyiro and Lake Dera. Until 1917, Bulsesa was a sub-district of Wajir but in 1918, Wajir became a district of its own.

The headquarters of Wajir was evacuated in 1940 during the Italian invasion. Except for that period, Wajir has remained a full district since 1918.

The following nine communities form the northern part of Kenya: Borana, Rendile, Turkana, Elmolo, Pokot, Samburu, Somali, Dasanach and Gabbra.















Dickson Wekesa
+ posts