Home Sports Shujaas make five changes for HBSC challenger 2024

Shujaas make five changes for HBSC challenger 2024

Kenya Rugby Union [KRU] has unveiled the national seven teams set to take on the HSBC Challenger 2024 second round slated for March 8th – 10th in Montevideo, Uruguay.

Ben Salem and Dennis Ambuse make a return to the side, while Lamec Ambetsa, Chrisant Ojwang and Elvis Olukusi are in line to make their senior debuts, five changes that Coach Kevin Wambua made to the side that won the cup final in January’s opening round in Dubai.

Channel 1

The team will be without fly half Brian Tanga, who is recovering from illness while William Mwanjii, Brian Mutugi and Festus Shiasi have not been included in the travelling team.

Winger Patrick Odongo- who scored 11 tries in Dubai- picked up a knock during Daystar Falcon’s 39-12 victory over Kabarak University in the KRU Championships three weeks ago.

In the women’s category Japan-based Janet Okello returns for the Lionesses, after missing out on the opening leg in Dubai.

Okello replacing Diana Kemunto, is the only change to the side that finished second at the opening round in Dubai.

The Shujaas will take on 2023 Challenger champions Tonga alongside Georgia and Portugal in Pool A.

In the women’s competition, the Lionesses have been drawn together with Belgium, Papua New Guinea and Hong Kong in Pool B.

John Njuguna
+ posts