Home NEWS Local News Reject corruption in all its manifestations, Ruto tells newly appointed Judges

Reject corruption in all its manifestations, Ruto tells newly appointed Judges


President William Ruto has urged the 20 newly appointed Judges of the High Court to serve with integrity and professionalism.

Speaking during the swearing-in ceremony at State House on Tuesday, the President called on the judges to uphold credibility of the Judiciary when carrying out their duties

“I encourage you to commit yourselves to serving the people with integrity and professionalism and to reject corruption in all its manifestations. Without integrity, the credibility of our judiciary, as well as all public institutions, is severely questioned,” said Ruto.

The head of state acknowledged the critical role governance institutions play in enhancing democracy and the need for a strong and effective judiciary.

“An independent judiciary, an effective executive, a progressive legislature, an open civil society, and a vigilant media are not mutually exclusive; instead, they share a mandate to serve the people and should facilitate each other’s efforts,” Ruto stated.

“Your commitment to diligently serve the people of Kenya, and do justice to them – without fear, favour, bias, affection, ill-will, prejudice or any political, religious or other influence – will make the difference between progress and failure, freedom and tyranny, and prosperity and destitution for the people of our beloved nation,” he added

The 20 Judges, among them eight women, were appointed last week by President William Ruto following a recommendation by the Judicial Service Commission.

The new judges are Moses Ado Otieno, Alice Chepngetich Bett Soi, Benjamin Mwikya Musyoki, John Lolwatan Tamar, Francis Weche Andayi, Andrew Bahati Mwamuye, Julius Kipkosgei Ng’ arng’ ar, Wendy Kagendo Micheni, Emily Onyando Ominde and Helene Rafaela Namisi.

Others are Alexander Muasya Muteti, Julius Mukut Nangea, Benjamin Kimani Njoroge, Caroline Jepyegen Kendagor, Stephen Nzisi Mbungi, Linus Poghon Kassan, Noel Onditi Adagi Inziani, Tabitha Ouya Wanyama, Rhoda Cherotich Rutto and Joe Omido Mkutu.

Website | + posts