Home NEWS Local News 110 MPs sign impeachment motion against CS Linturi

110 MPs sign impeachment motion against CS Linturi

Agriculture CS Mithika Linturi. Photo:Courtesy

At least 110 members of the National Assembly have appended their signature in support of an impeachment motion against Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Mithika Linturi.

Bumula Member of Parliament Jack Wamboka has already filed a notice of motion for impeachment of Linturi with the speaker’s office with debate on the same expected next week.

According to Wamboka, CS Linturi is unsuitable to continue holding office.

The fake fertilizer scandal is being probed by both the National Assembly and Senate Agriculture Committees.

The impeachment motion is anchored on Article 152 (6) of the Constitution which states that a Member of the National Assembly, supported by at least one-quarter of all the members of the National Assembly, may propose a motion requiring the President to dismiss a Cabinet Secretary.

The motion however requires to be voted for by at least 233 members in order to sail through.

Kevin Wachira
+ posts