Home Sports Cutchi Leva Samaj six-a-aside bonanza excites as teams battle for top positions...

Cutchi Leva Samaj six-a-aside bonanza excites as teams battle for top positions Sunday



All eyes have been Shree Cutchi Leva Patel Samaj Six-A-Side cricket tournament which began Friday with teams squaring  it out in a three-day cricket bonanza at SCLPS ground and at South C’s Ngara Sports Club.

The event featured five pools (A, B, C, D and E) running from Friday night, May 31 through to June 2.

The Friday fixtures were held at Samaj grounds. But Saturday and Sunday fixtures were played at both Samaj and Ngara Sports Club venues.

The final match is expected to be played today, Sunday at the Samaj ground  from 5.30PM onwards following a three-day riveting group stage showdown.

Spectators have been treated to some exhilarating displays of cricket artistry and camaraderie as they cheer on their favourite teams.

The tournament is proudly sponsored by Crown Paints, Karsan Ramji and Sons, Ndovu Aggregates as well as Purple Dot International Ltd.

Teams that have proved to be a hard nut to crack are: Stray Lions, Swamibapa, Kanbis Blue, Stray Lions, Maruti Marble (India) and Cutchi Leva A.

According to sclps Youth league secretary Rahul Vishram, the top 2 teams  from each group qualified to create a table of 10.

Rahul added that the teams in the table of 10 shall then be placed on their run rate to determine their position.

He added: “Teams positioned 7,8,9 & 10 shall face out in the pre quarters whilst teams positioned 1-6 shall directly qualify to quarter finals alongside the winners of the 2 pre quarters”

Group A has Team Bff, Sikh Union ‘A’, Swamibapa ‘B’, Samaj School and Kanbis Blue

Group B comprises of Maruti Marble, Cutchi Leva ‘B’, Sir Ali, Gymkhana ‘A’ and Cutchi Leva ‘D’

Teams listed Group C are Cutchi Leva ‘A’, Straylions, Kanbis Red and Sikh Union ‘B’.

Group D will feature Ngara Sports Club, Gymkhana ‘B’, Mombasa Samaj and Kongonis.

Group E is a composition of Cutchi Leva ‘C’, Cutchi Rising Stars, Swamibapa ‘A’ and Ndovu Crushers.

Following the conclusion of Group matches on Sunday morning, teams will proceed to the knockout stages, which will culminate with the afternoon final that holds the key to this year’s winner.

“Standards have been set and only the sky is the limit. This year, we anticipate some entertaining super cricket as teams have been bantering over who has the last laugh on the crease,” Rahul added.

Website | + posts