Vocal powerhouse and 2024 Hall of Fame inductee, Mary J Blige, is grateful to be included in this year’s class of inductees.

Taking to social media to share the news, Blige wrote: “Beyond grateful!!!!!! This is incredible!!!.”

Channel 1

Blige, 53, got the good news alongside the rest of the 2024 inductees: Peter Frampton, Cher, Dave Matthews Band, Foreigner, Kool & the Gang, Ozzy Osbourne and A Tribe Called Quest.

Meanwhile, Jimmy Buffett, MC5, Dionne Warwick and Motown songwriter/producer Norman Whitfield will be inducted in the Music Excellence Award category.

The musical influence category will celebrate three guitar trailblazers, the late Alexis Korner, one of the founding fathers of British blues; 90-year-old legend John Mayall of John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers and “Big Mama” Thornton, an R&B pioneer whose larger-than-life personality, unique guitar tone and brash vocals helped shape early rock.

Former Motown exec Suzanne de Passe will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

“God always has the final say!!!! Thank you to my fans all over the world!!!! Tears of Joy!!!! @rockhall #rockhall2024,” Blige added alongside a reel of her on stage throughout her nearly four-decade career. “To all my fans who have rocked with me from the beginning, thank you.”

The news was received with messages of congratulations from various industry A-listers including Taraji P Henson, Kandi Burress and Bell, Biv DeVoe’s Ronnie DeVoe and others.

This year’s Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame induction ceremony will be held on Oct. 19 at the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, streaming live on Disney+.

Website | + posts