Home Sports Rally Kenyan drivers try their luck amongst big boys in WRC Safari Rally

Kenyan drivers try their luck amongst big boys in WRC Safari Rally


This year’s WRC Safari Rally kicks off on Thursday at the Super Special Kasarani stage and runs through Sunday, March 31st, with the final 19th stage, Hell’s Gate 2—Wolf Power Stage.

A total of 29 drivers will be competing in the WRC rally 1, rally 2, rally 3, and the Kenya national rally categories.

Rally 1 comprises 9 drivers, with Toyota Gazoo, Hyundai, and M Sport Ford each represented by 3 drivers.

The Toyota  Gazoo racing team, which has dominated the past three Safari rally editions, consists of British Elfyn Evans navigated by Scott Martin,Japanese Takamoto Katsuta with his co driver Aaron JOHNSTON and reigning champion  Kalle ROVANPERÄ from Finland navigated by Jonne Haltunnen.

Current series leader Thierry Neuville from Belgium, navigated by Martijn WYDAEGHE, will lead the Hyundai Shell Mobis Rally team, along with Estonian Ott TÄNAK with his navigator Martin JÄRVEOJA and Estonian Esapekka LAPPI alongside his co-driver Janne FERM.

Last but not least in the big boys Rally 1 category is the M-Sport Ford World Rally team consisting of Grégoire Munster from Luxembourg, navigated by Louis Louka,Jourdan Jordan Serderidis from Greece, navigated by Frédéric MICLOTTE, and Frenchman Adrien Fourmaux alongside his navigator Alexandre CORIA.

Top notch Kenyan drivers will compete in Rally 2 among them five times Safari Rally winner Carl Tundo navigated by Tim Jessop in a Ford Fiesta car, and reigning African Champion Karan Patel was driven by his navigator Tausiff Khan in a Skoda Fabia.

Other Kenyan drivers include Samman Vohra with his co-driver Alfir Khanin in a Skoda Fabia Evolution and Aakif Viran, navigated by Zahir Shah in a Skoda Fabia car.

Hamza Anwar and Adnin Din are the only Kenyan Rally 3 participants, while Nikhil Sachania,Minesh Rathod, and Andrew Muiruri will compete in the national Rally 4 category.