Home NEWS Local News 20 new Judges to be sworn in at State House

20 new Judges to be sworn in at State House

Eight women were among the 20 Judges appointed by the President


Newly appointed Judges of the High Court will be sworn in Tuesday morning at State House.

The 20 among them eight women were appointed last week by President William Ruto following a recommendation by the Judicial Service Commission.

The successful candidates were among 100 applicants shortlisted for the interviews that were concluded on April 30.

The majority of the judges previously served as magistrates.

The President made the appointments in line with the powers conferred by Article 166 (1) (b) of the Constitution of Kenya.

The names were contained in a gazette notice dated May 9.

The JSC advertised 20 vacancies of Judges of the High Court on 13th Oct 2023. 305 individuals applied for the position.

The new judges are Moses Ado Otieno, Alice Chepngetich Bett Soi, Benjamin Mwikya Musyoki, John Lolwatan Tamar, Francis Weche Andayi, Andrew Bahati Mwamuye, Julius Kipkosgei Ng’ arng’ ar, Wendy Kagendo Micheni, Emily Onyando Ominde and Helene Rafaela Namisi.

Others are Alexander Muasya Muteti, Julius Mukut Nangea, Benjamin Kimani Njoroge, Caroline Jepyegen Kendagor, Stephen Nzisi Mbungi, Linus Poghon Kassan, Noel Onditi Adagi Inziani, Tabitha Ouya Wanyama, Rhoda Cherotich Rutto and Joe Omido Mkutu.

They join 78 Judges serving in 45 stations across the country.

Judiciary says the additional judges will help enhance access to justice and boost the clearance of case backlogs.


Website | + posts