Home Sports Rugby Chipu squad named ahead of Barthes Trophy in Zimbabwe

Chipu squad named ahead of Barthes Trophy in Zimbabwe

The national Under 20 rugby team ‘Chipu’ squad  has been named ahead of their participation in this years Africa U20 Barthes Trophy scheduled April 20-28th in Harare,Zimbabwe.

Head Coach Simon Jawichre has named the 28 man squad that will be captained byEdmond Omondi .

Channel 1

The team has  has nine returning players from the squad that did duty at the World Rugby U20 Trophy held last July in Nairobi namely Geylord Ngasi, Andycole Omolo, Iddo Kuta, Wycliffe Ogutu, Nathan Tsindoli, Patrick Wainaina, Faran Juma , Michael Wamalwa and James Olela.

Also making the cut are Alvin Khavoli and Philip Okeyo, who have been standout performers in the Kenya Cup for their club sides Menengai Oilers and Nakuru.

This year’s tournament features four teams led by hosts Zimbabwe, last year’s runners up Kenya, Namibia and Tunisia. The teams will battle it out in a round robin competition over three match days with the team finishing first winning the title and securing Africa’s berth to the World Rugby U20 Trophy 2024 set for 2-17 July in Scotland.

The team departs on Thursday morning and start their campaign against Namibia on Saturday 20 April before taking on Tunisia on Wednesday 24 April 2024. They complete their campaign with a clash against hosts and defending champions Zimbabwe on Sunday 28 April 2024.

Kenya U20 trophy Squad
Darrel Oluoch, Ian Nyandusi, Bramwel Mate, Brian Shile, Geylord Ngasi, Hafidh Mohammed, Eugene Etali, Cleyn Okumbi, Andycole Omolo, Eddy Otieno, Iddo Kuta, Wycliffe Ogutu, Nathan Tsindoli, Willy Tino, Edmond Omondi (captain), Patrick Wainaina, Benedict Muiruri, Faran Juma, Philip Okeyo, Alvin Khavoli, Brian Kiptoo, Dennis Ndayala, Kipchirchir Bett, Elvis Otete, Eugene Ojiambo, Jackson Siketi, Michael Wamalwa, James Olela MANAGEMENT Simon Jawichre (Head Coach), Philip Wamae (Team Manager), Samuel Ochieng (Physio)

Website | + posts