Home Sports Football Dortmund let Bundesliga title slip as Bayern are crowned champions

Dortmund let Bundesliga title slip as Bayern are crowned champions

Bayern Munich were crowned Bundesliga champions for an 11th consecutive season after a late 2-1 win at Cologne snatched the title away from Borussia Dortmund.

Jamal Musiala scored Bayern’s 89th minute winner as Thomas Tuchel’s side snatched the title by the tightest of margins on a dramatic final day.

Channel 1

Dortmund, who entered a pulsating final day two points clear at the top, were denied being crowned champions for the first time in 11 years after they drew 2-2 at home to Mainz, losing out on goal difference.

Bayern knew they needed to beat Cologne and hope for a favour from Mainz, and having led through Kingsley Coman’s stunning eighth-minute strike, the defending champions moved top as Mainz raced into a two-goal lead in the first half at Dortmund.

Dortmund fans believed and prayed for the intervention from elsewhere to be upheld, but those hopes were dashed with two minutes of normal time remaining as Gnabry set up Musiala for a decisive blow. Niklas Sule levelled in the 96th minute back at Dortmund – but there was not enough time for a winner.

Dortmund finished on 71 points – the same as Bayern following their victory – but with an inferior goal difference of 15 on one of the most dramatic ends to any Bundesliga season

In a further twist, Bayern announced immediately after their title triumph they had fired CEO Oliver Kahn and sporting director Hasan Salihamidzic.

Meanwhile, RB Leipzig and sensational Union Berlin finished third and fourth respectively and will also compete in the Champions League next season.

Hertha Berlin and Schalke 04 were relegated, while VfB Stuttgart will go into the relegation play-off.

Website | + posts