Home NEWS Local News Nairobi, Cape Town sign Twin Cities Agreement

Nairobi, Cape Town sign Twin Cities Agreement

Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja and Cape Town Mayor Geordin Hill-Lewis have signed an agreement to make Cape Town and Nairobi sister cities.

Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja Tuesday signed the Twin Cities Agreement with the Mayor of Cape Town, Alderman Hill-Lewis. 

The signing of the agreement will see Nairobi City and the City of Cape Town, in South Africa, collaborate in various sectors.

Channel 1

Speaking during the signing of the agreement at the City Hall, Governor Sakaja said Nairobi and Cape Town stand as great regional hubs of the African continent.

“This partnership, coming hot on the heels of the removal of visa requirements between our two Countries, presents a great opportunity to our people.” Noted Sakaja.

Adding that: “The South and the East of Africa have come together to work together.”

Mayor of Cape Town, Alderman Hill-Lewis welcomed the move saying both cities are on similar trajectories, with similar missions to be ‘the undisputed economic and innovation hubs of our respective regions’.

“It was important to me that our first city-to-city co-operation agreement in this administration is with an African city, and Nairobi is the obvious choice. It is clear that we are both on a mission to become even more globally competitive and to stand out as the most attractive and convenient places to do business in our regions.” Said Lewis.

Lewis said both regions are tourism giants on the African continent noting that Nairobi and Cape Town attract a very wide range of visitors throughout the year, and have vibrant and well-serviced film industries.

“We can do so much more together. We can strengthen each other’s tourism markets. We can collaborate with each other’s film industries. We can double the trade between us,” said Mayor Hill-Lewis.

Website | + posts