Home NEWS County News 33 counties to benefit as library function is transferred

33 counties to benefit as library function is transferred

County Governments have broadened their function base following the finalization of the transfer of the library function by the Intergovernmental Relations Technical Committee.

The development was actualised through the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and hand over of assets belonging to 33 county governments that benefited from the transferred 61 libraries.

Channel 1

Speaking during the official MOU signing ceremony in Kwale county, KNLS CEO Dr. Charles Nzivo said Library as a function was transferred to the 33 benefitting counties on 9th August 2019 vide Gazette Notice No. 142 by IGRTC as assigned by the Fourth Schedule of the Constitution.

To ensure effective implementation of the function, corresponding financial resources totalling 425 million shillings was earmarked and approved in the 2023 division of revenue Act (DORA,2023) to be transferred to the respective county governments.

Witnessing the signing, IGRTC Member Linet Mavu observed that the committee has been on the ground to ensure effective transition between the two levels of government.

Continuous capacity building in the implementation of the function will be undertaken by the national government as required by the constitution and monitored by IGRTC.

Dickson Wekesa
+ posts