Home Sports Athletics Kenya’s marathon team to the 2024 Paris Olympics named

Kenya’s marathon team to the 2024 Paris Olympics named


Athletics Kenya, AK, has named the final formidable eight-member marathon team that will represent the country in the Paris 2024 Olympics.

  Two-time Olympic champion Eliud Kipchoge will lead the men’s team, while 2020 Olympic champion Peres Jepchirchir will anchor the women’s team.

AK President hoped that Kipchoge who will be defending his title will be able to be the first athlete to win the Olympic marathon title for the third time in a row.

Tokyo Marathon champion Benson Kipruto alongside the London Marathon champion Alexander Munyao completes the three men team selected by AK and announced in Eldoret on Wednesday morning. Timothy Kiplagat, Tokyo Marathon silver medallist was named as a reserve in the men’s team.

Eliud Kipchoge won the 2016 Rio Olympics at a time of 2:08:44, and successfully defended the title by winning the 2020 Tokyo Olympics clocking 2:08:38.

His compatriot Benson Kipruto set a personal best clocking 2:02:16 to win the Tokyo marathon on March 3, 2024. While Alexander Munyao last week secured the London marathon after clocking 2:04:01.

The Tokyo silver medallist, Timothy Kiplagat who clocked 2:02:55 to clinch the second position was named as a reserve in the men’s team.

Two-time Boston marathon winner Hellen Obiri will join Jepchirchir in the women’s team alongside Brigid Kosgei, the London and Chicago marathon champion.

2022 New York Marathon winner Sharon Lokedi was named as a reserve in the women team, with the AK President stating that the reserves ‘will go all the way’ while at the same time hoping nothing would happen to the core team.

Jepchirchir, the London Marathon champion, will be hoping to defend her 2020 Tokyo Olympics title that she won at a time of 2:27:20. Kosgei was able to clinch the second position clocking 2:27:36.

During the London Marathon, she clocked 2:16:16 to break the women-only World Marathon record, and was victorious in the 2021 New York City marathon and 2022 Boston Marathon.

Hellen Obiri secured the Boston marathon in 2023 after clocking 2:21:38, and defended it successfully on April 15 winning at a time of 2:22:27.


Website | + posts